Image representing Nexus One as depicted in Cr...

Image via CrunchBase

Well yesterday my buddy came over so I could root his dated Nexus One. He had thought about it for a couple of months and finally decided to pull the trigger. I basically did what I always do when rooting a new phone and headed straight for the xda-developers forum to find the Nexus One development thread. Proceeded to go the stickied thread for the beginner guide and get the ball rolling. I found the right post with all the instructions, started the process of installing SuperOneClick and get the right drivers installed on my desktop PC.

This is where the problems began… Drivers are not fully installing from the front USB port so i switched the USB cord to the port in the back of my pc unit which usually never fails and that fixes that. Then, the SuperOneClick root program kept stalling. Try a few different things but no go. I, then, switched over to the laptop and repeat the process to see if that fixed things but still no go. By this time, a couple of hours had already gone by so we ate dinner and started watching NFL Monday Night on ESPN3 on the desktop while I scourged xda-developers.com to find out how to resolve the issue.

Distracted by the Pats vs Dolphins game(losing in all my fantasy leagues for week 1), I dragged to find how to resolve the issue and was growing tired of it at this point. Right when I was ready to give up, I told myself forget the initial instructions and in the command prompt screen typed in”fastboot oem unlock” and BAM! This is a bit embarrassing because that’s probably the first thing I should’ve done. But then again, this is only the second Android phone out of the 7 I’ve fully rooted that I had needed to do this so… that’s my excuse and I am sticking to it!! Anyway after that was pretty much smooth sailing but still time-consuming because of the 2.3.4 Gingerbread update that made it harder to root. So I had to downgrade the OS before actually even rooting it.

At the end of the night, I got him setup up with the latest CM7 ROM for the Nexus One.Then, I gave him a quick rundown of the features of CM7 and the useful root apps I mention in a recent post. About 6 hours of fun rooting! Despite the time it took, I was proud to add another notch to my rooting belt. Yup, I am a tech nerd. My tally is at 9 now: Samsung Moment,Samsung Intercept,Samsung Transform, Samsung Vibrant, Motorola Droid X, both Nexus S & 4G versions, HTC Sensation 4G(partial) and the Nexus One. Not bad, not bad…