Hello everyone. My name is Ideen Barimani or IBarimani for short on the blog. How’s it going?

I wrote a blog, that you can see on the right side of your screen, called All 81. It has been a personal goal of mine to try to go to every Baltimore Orioles home game this season. And I am thankful I was able to do it. And I am grateful to all of my friends who helped me along the way. And I do need to give kudos to Facebook and Foursquare as well.

We have rapidly expanded as a society and technology is in such a hurry. Does there need to be this sense of urgency? Well fortunately for me, it benefited me this season.

The Facebook check-in feature allows people to announce where they are and with whom they are with. Now this information is completely voluntary. It’s addicting and contagious. In future posts I’ll discuss why this is good and bad. Instead of calling, texting, or messaging friends to let them know where we are to tell them to come out, it simplifies the process. The good part is, people know to come to you and where to find you. The bad part is exactly the same. šŸ™‚

Foursquare has become very popular. It utilizes similar check-ins and point tally’s for multiple check-ins, new places, places where it’s “swarming” (which means 50+ people) in the same venue, and badges. Now it’s voluntary big brother in a cute fashion. But it can be used for good. Facebook and foursquare check-ins have allowed me and my peers, to meet up and enhance our friendships. I have made new friends, got reacquainted with old ones, or just been able to say hello to current pals. If we use check-in applications for positive reasons, it enhances how we are all connected. I am all for it.

In future posts, I will get to the spiritual crux and core of technology, social media, human behavior, and anything else that comes to mind. It will show us how we are all the same and unique at the same time. Thank you!