Can you go back 15 to 20 years back and recall using your computer and for what exactly?

I can give you some reminders.  Back in the mid-to-late 90’s we had all kinds of great dial-up systems.  Some of these will resonate :

Prodigy, CompuServe, Delphi, Sierra Network, Playnet, Quantum Link, and a host of others.  How about Bulletin Board Systems! (BBS’S) Were any of you a Sysop or Co-Sysop of a BBS?  I get goose bumps as I write these terms.   The old modem dialing out and logging on gives me chills as well.  This was Social Media before the term was coined.  And I have issues with that term.  I will talk about that another time.

You had your 2400, 4800,  and 9600 baud modems.  We thought they were so fast and revolutionary,  At the time they were. And we learned to be patient and remain still, when waiting to download are favorite Freeware, Shareware, and Pirated 🙂 software.   When the 14.4 modem debuted we went crazy, then the 28.8, 33.6, 56k etc.    The speed got faster and we tried to keep up.  And in many ways we got faster.  I am projecting onto you how I feel.  I sometimes still feel the Internet is too slow.  That’s my own impatience.  I wonder if I was indoctrinated to believe everything should be faster.  In a conscious and unconscious state I was.   Even as I type this, I expect this to be as fast as I want it to be.   It’s as if I will never be satisfied.  Now how many others am I speaking for?

Will things ever slow down?  Do they need to slow down?  Should they?  For the benefit of humanity, maybe it’s for the best.  I’m not trying to sound doom-and-gloom here.  But what is the rush?   I know the big computer, cellular phone, and media companies need to promote the next big thing and make gigantic profits, with the next gizmo and gadget, we may or may not actually need.   In this case, do all good (good?) things come to an end.

I am noticing a plateauing of behavior by my peers.  There is a sentiment and understanding, that this may not be sustainable.   I have no evidence to support this.  I just have my intuition and a feeling, that this can only go so far.  Some of my friends are in agreement.  It doesn’t mean I am right.

My main concern is, what if the power grids and satellites blacked out one night.   It may take very little (or a lot) for something to happen in the universe, where technology could go in reverse or retroactive.  Are we mature enough and patient enough to remember how it used to be?     I’m not saying it’s going to happen.  And this is not meant to be a negative piece.  I am happy we have evolved but at what price to humanity?  There is a lot of good that comes with it.   I want to focus on that.   However, like many objects, does the world run on batteries too?    In future posts I will talk about how the reliance on technology has been good and not-so-good.  🙂  I will also talk about the online services of the past.  Some were brilliant and ahead of its time.

Thank you!