A huge blanket statement right?   A sweeping generalization?  Well I don’t have time to go over specifics or this post would be longer than 500 words.  And we don’t have time for that!

The late, great George Carlin said it best; “Spending money you don’t have on things, you don’t need.”   This is the greatest clip on any subject I have ever seen.

Is there a need to always have the latest gadgets?  This is not a competition.  Contrary to what we have been told, life is not meant to be a battle or divide amongst each other.  The rat race is exactly that.  A race that was created by a group of people to control us and keep the status quo.  It’s who has the biggest this and biggest that.   If you choose to live within that matrix, then you have plenty of company.

With the economy the way it is,  people still tend to be buying the latest technology at a rapid pace.   What recession?  Ahem.

If you choose to follow your own path, it may be lonely.   That’s the point: it’s your own path!  But that is where you attract others like you.  It does happen.  I struggle with it to this day.   I know I am better than this and most people are.

The contests for who has the best Smartphone, iPhone, Android, or BlackBerry is more prevalent than you notice.  It’s become second-nature to ask, “What kind of phone is that?”  We were not asking these questions until very recently.   Now it’s very subconscious (or not) but there is a competition to have the biggest, baddest, most expensive. most exclusive hand-held technology there is.

What is the point?  When does it stop?  Does having all this “stuff” make you happy?  Do you feel incomplete without it?

Now I understand that many of these devices have made things more convenient.  As we expand and evolve, do we reach a zenith?   Have we already?  When does the conveniences and competition, become an inconvenience.   (If that hasn’t happened already).

Remember: This stuff is supposed to help us and make us feel good.   Along with everything else, if it becomes a nuisance or burden, it’s time to take a break.

The sad part is, a lot of the these companies are quick to make new devices, with heavier upgrades, that quickly make your previous phone become obsolete.  It’s superficial and from within.   You need to get the newest item so you can quickly get to 4G, 5G, whatever.  Those precious few seconds of Internet loading time are too much.  You can’t wait anymore.   You become impatient, it becomes addicting, it’s narcotic-like.

I am projecting because I was like this at one point.   But I understand that I only need the basics and want to simplest way to get there.  If I need a Smartphone or iPhone to do it than ok.   But I am not in a race.  I retired.  No more.   I just want peace and to be happy.   And I really think that is why these toys were made in the first place.   Hopefully.

I will have a multitude of things to say about this at a later time.  Thank you.