This is not a race.   Not a competition.  And not a battle.   For most of us, we don’t allow that to be so.   However, there is something in our subconscious that may say otherwise.

I will preface this by saying, that at last count, my Facebook friends list is at 1,332.  So this post is going to come off very hypocritical.   Yep.  🙂

I have been actively clearing my friends list of night club promoters, DJs, high school acquaintances, people I don’t know, and various socialites who feel the need to add people for exposure.  That is understandable.  The ebb and flow of your friends list when you are in a prominent industry like night life, musical, etc. will be obvious.

Regarding that, some of the people who have added me, I will see out in Washington, DC at the pretentious venues and they act like they are too good to talk to you.  But not good enough to add to your friends list?  Quantity over quality.  That’s the name of the game these days.   So I have started to ‘defriend’ those people, but yet they come back to request me again.   I guess they have their own data mining skills?

It’s cool at first.  You feel welcome and you feel like you are in that extended social circle.  The extended Facebook family if you will.  But this is the case of not using this for good.  I don’t need a bombardment of the next 18 events over the next four weekends.  And yes I know I can block those invites, but it’s hilarious how one-by-one you will get these stupid names for events in your Events List.    Events such as Status Tuesdays and College Wednesdays are all very nice.  But they scream pretentiousness and they scream arrogance.  And of course if I show up and say “Hey, we are Facebook pals, can I get in free?”  They act like they don’t know who you are and probably don’t.  But what was the point of friending me?  To be friends right?  Ha. 🙂

There is also a segment of very young folks who will add anyone for the sake of adding.   This is a continuation from Myspace, where you just had to have the most friends and the best looking site.  It’s a phase you grow out of.  Or maybe not?

If you aren’t hurting anyone than I see nothing right or wrong with it.  It just is.

And I am going to be honest with you.  I have deleted a lot of people from my list and I am thankful to see that I have a lot of good people in my life.  Now I don’t hang out with all 1300+ of these people, but in one way or another, I am connected to all of them.    Now I am not here to brag or boast about anything.   My personality and lifestyle has allowed me to become friends with new folks and reacquainted with friends of the past, whom I may have not had a chance to, if it wasn’t for Facebook.    Once again, I will follow-up on this as this was heavily general.  I will give real-life examples of the good and bad of this, in future entries.  Cheers!